NEXT EVENT  Friday, May 24
12th Annual USMTS Spring Shootout presented by LT Construction

May 24, 2013

By Guy Hamernik
Winona, MN (May 24, 2013) – Jason Forehand and Dan Bork paced the Winona Auto Sales WISSOTA Superstocks to the starting line with $400 dollars in bonus money being awarded to the winner compliments of Consolidated Business Systems/Jay Orrichio, Kyocera/J-Mev Motorsports, and $200 for 2nd and $100 to third compliments of Brauer Roofing. This money was on top on the normal purse. Dan Bork took the 7C to the lead as Forehand worked to hold off Tommy Richards and Gary Wiersgalla. A Shane Kisling breakdown took care of Bork's 6 car-length lead. On the restart, it was Bork, with Forehand, Richards, Wiersgalla, and Brian Fetting slipping into the top 5. On the restart, Richards challenged high then ducked low to take over the lead. Brian Fetting shot past forehand and Weirsgalla to take over third. In the battle of Mondovi Wisconsin boys, Tommy Richards took home the bragging rights.

Fast Freddy Prudoehl started on the point for the Jailhouse Saloon WISSOTA Street Stock feature and led the stacked field for the first five laps until Doug Wojcik made the pass on the low side through turns 1 and 2. Alma Wisconsin's Danny Hanson followed suit, followed by Danny Richards in the 3R. The yellow deuce filed back into 4th and settled into a grove through the feature. At the tape it was Wojeck with the win.

It was a wild start in the Elmer's Auto Salvage Pure Stock Feature. On lap one, Brendan Losinski got high through turn two and took a wild scraping ride down the back-stretch wall in the 01. Before the caution could fly, Josh Malchaski lost a right-rear tire and rolled over through turn 4. Both drivers escaped injury on the action-packed first lap. On the restart it was Lee Hager starting on the pole with Kyle Solberg on his outside. George Richards piloted the 5R of past the 94 of Lee Hager for the lead and never looked back. Hager hung on for second with Paul Sweazey and Bob Fort Jr in 3rd and 4th.

25 USRA B-Mods took to the speedway for the Blackhorse Bar and Grill 18 lap feature. On lap 1, Cody Gardner and Troy Langowski got mixed up through turn 4 bringing out the first caution. A breakdown for Jake Timm took him out of the running on lap 2, and Kyle Brown edged into the turn 4 wall bringing out the second caution. On the restart, mayhem broke loose as several cars came together resulting in a hard rollover for Jack Baehman in the number 11. Tyler Creeley, Alex Williamson, and Phillip Dunbar in the 35X were also involved. Baehman gingerly exited the car favoring his right shoulder. Jon Van Minsel shot out to the early lead with the 21 of Jacob Bleess on his tail. On lap 8, Bleess shot down to take the lead through turn 4 as Van Minsel suffered a breakdown on the back stretch. That put Bleess on the point with Parker Hale in 2nd, followed by Chris Gilbertson, Darran Jonsgaard, and Eric Kanz. When the race continued, a great shootout developed between Hale, Kanz, Walski, Jonsgaard, and Crapser. Out front it was all Jacob Blees taking home the feature, followed by Walski, Gilbertson, Hale, and Kanz.

Sixteen 600 modifieds took the track for the Oakridge Fabrication feature with Kyle Jumbeck and last year's point champion Greg Wohletz on the front row. Jumbeck took the early lead while the rest of the field battled for second. Joe Prozinzino making his first start of the year, emerged in second and stalked Jumbeck through lap 5 when the caution flew for a Tom Benke spin-out. On the restart Provinzino overtook Jumbeck , while Don Werner worked his way up to third. Caution flew again for the 27 of Brian Laumeyer as he spun in turn 4, collecting Nicholas Wagner in the process. On the restart, Provinzino ran off with the feature win, followed by Don Werner. Greg Wohletz edged Kyle Jumbeck at the finish line for third, with Bruce Schmidt taking 5th.

Steve Lavasseur and Jake Timm paced the River City Manufacturing USRA - A Modifieds to the start with Timm taking the early lead. Josh Angst shot to the high side, and Brad Waits shot low to take 2nd away from Lavasseur. It was a three car battle for the lead for several laps until Timm mixed up through turn 2 and Waits passed on the low side for the lead. Caution flew as Chris Loberg spun in turn 4, giving the lead back to Timm. On the restart, the three continued their battle. Waits took the lead on the restart, with Keith Foss passing Angst for third. Angst slowed up with a flat tire which brought out another caution. Waits, Foss, and Timm battled three-wide for three laps before Timm drifted back. When the white flag flew, It was Waits low, Foss high looking for a little extra bite to make the pass for the lead. Coming out of the final turn, it was a drag race to the finish as Waits edged Foss for the win. Decorah Iowa's Dan Bohr battled from a 10th starting spot to finish third, while Lance Hofer finished strong in 4th. Jake Timm finished with a top 5 finish. Racing action continues next Friday with KAGE-Budweiser night at Mississippi Thunder, the area's longest running sponsorship with plenty of prizes for the fans. The green flag drops for the big cars at 7:00PM, with the mini-modifieds taking to the Lightning Speedway at 6:00PM.

MISSISSIPPI THUNDER SPEEDWAY is located 3.0 miles north of Fountain City on Wisconsin Highway 35. For more information, call 608-687-3282 or visit www.mississippithunder.com on the World Wide Web.

- - - - - - - - - - - -

MISSISSIPPI THUNDER SPEEDWAY is presenting its 2013 'FIFTH ANNIVERSARY SEASON' of top-notch dirt track action in Fountain City, WI. The high-banked 1/3 mile dark-clay oval is quickly becoming known as one of the best speedways in the upper Midwest presenting dirt track racing in a fan and family friendly atmosphere every Friday night throughout the racing season.