NEXT EVENT  Friday, May 24
12th Annual USMTS Spring Shootout presented by LT Construction

October 7, 2011

By Tracy Hager
FOUNTAIN CITY, WI (October 7, 2011) – With the season finale at MISSISSIPPI THUNDER SPEEDWAY came over 160 cars to compete at the Western Wisconsin oval. National Championships were being chased for the USRA B-Mods in which the top three contenders were in attendance; those drivers being Brandon Hare, Jake Timm, and Shaun Walski. The WISSOTA Super Stocks and the WISSOTA Street Stocks also had the top two in each division present to duke it out for the title, and duke it out they did.

WISSOTA Street Stock driver Danny Hanson conquered the division with a clean sweep to pick up three much needed points in his quest for back-to-back National titles as his close competitor Tim Johnson finished directly behind him in the feature. Shaun Walski also had a much-needed sweep in the USRA B-Mods.

Keith Foss topped the USRA Modified division over the 44 cars that entered the night's event. Steve Thomas earned the win from the pole in the WISSOTA Super Stocks as he had to battle through at least six cautions and a late race surge from Shane Kisling.

Tyler Peterson shot to the lead in the Jailhouse Saloon WISSOTA Street Stock feature, but a breakdown for Peterson in turn two brought out the first of many cautions and resulted in a complete restart. Fred Prudoehl slipped to the outside pole with Darryll Foegen on the restart and took the early lead. Foegen and Cody Kummer raced side by side for second, but Danny Hanson made a fast bolt to fourth with Tim Johnson on his tail. Mike Blowers zipped into the top six as the pack set itself a short distance ahead of the rest. After a couple cautions, a Talladega-style caution erupted in turn four with multiple cars every which way. A single-file restart was ordered with Prudoehl on the point followed by Foegen, Kummer, Hanson, Blowers, and Johnson. With another caution on the books, Kummer fell off with a flat tire. As racing resumed, three-wide racing between Hanson, Foegen, and Johnson for second place sparked behind Prudoehl. Hanson finally made his pass to the lead at the half-way mark of the race. Johnson closed in on Hanson, but after the 30-minute feature, Hanson secured the win over Johnson, Blowers, Cory Hanson, and Foegen.

The WISSOTA Midwest Modified feature flew into high gear with Jason Born and Tyler Clark out front. Grant Southworth and Dan Wheeler raced for third, but it did not take long for Wheeler to take the lead. With 11 laps down, Clark dropped water on the backstretch and shut his machine down which pulled a caution. Wheeler manned the point on the restart followed by Southworth, Tony Schill, and Cory Crapser. On a restart, Crapser got high in turn one and lost several spots. Josh Smith gained a lot of ground to climb to second behind Wheeler. Schill continued his charge in third while Mike Loomis dove into fourth after starting 16th on the field. Wheeler locked in the win followed by Smith, Schill, Southworth, and Loomis.

The EngineStore.com USRA B-Mods hit the track for their feature with fireworks as cars bounced off each other and a complete restart was in order. Tyler Creeley and Shaun Walski set the pace, but it was Walski to take command right away. Ben Anderson, Jake Timm, and Parker Hale raced for second while Troy Langowski wavered behind. Walski was nearly to the win when a caution with two to go reset the field for a green-white-checkered finish. Walski notched the win over Anderson, Timm, Hale, and Kylie Kath.

The 20-lap Winona Auto Sales WISSOTA Super Stock main hit the track with Steve Thomas and Jason Forehand leading the pack. Dave Mass was on a mission and quickly moved into second place behind Thomas. The first of many cautions flew when John Olson spun near the rear of the field with the leaders fast approaching. Thomas was able to zip to the high side to avoid Olson as the caution came out. Thomas assumed his lead followed by Mass, Ben Hillman, Forehand, and Shane Kisling. The fifth caution came out when Mass spun in turn one. The incident caused damage to multiple cars but most were able to continue. Thomas again took the point over Hillman, Kisling, Forehand, and Bart Steffen. With only seven laps down, the final caution came out when Josh Bartel was spun. Thomas continued to lead off strong but briefly raced three-wide for the lead with Kisling and Hillman. Thomas was then able to put some distance on Kisling and Hillman to seal the win. Kisling, Hillman, Jeff Brauer, and Steffen rounded out the top five.

Doug Hillson and Brad Waits set the pace for the River City Manufacturing USRA Modified main event. Luke Schott and Keith Foss raced behind. Foss took the lead and won the early-morning event over Schott, Waits, Kelly Shrock, and Robby Bunkelman.